"The award given by Lawyers to a Lawyer"

Nelson Mandela, first Prize winner of the Ludovic-Trarieux Prize

Nelson Mandela, first Prize winner in 1985

The Ludovic -Trarieux award was created in 1984, in Bordeaux by President Bertrand FAVREAU, and according to the Regulations was awarded every two years to a lawyer, regardless of nationality or Bar, who, by his work, will have illustrated his activity or his suffering, the defence of human rights, of defence rights, the supremacy of law, the struggle against racism and intolerance in any form, after consulting humanitarian associations and NGO.

It is awarded in memory of the French lawyer, Ludovic TRARIEUX, who in 1898, a hundred years ago, in the midst of the Dreyfus Affair, in France, founded the "French League for the Defence of Human Rights and the Citizen ", which is at the basis of all leagues set up in the world and on the same model since then.

April 27th, 1985 - HRIBB President Bertrand FAVREAU awards the first Ludovic-Trarieux Prize to Zenani Mandela, while her father has been in jail for 23 years in South-Africa.

The first " LUDOVIC TRARIEUX PRIZE " was awarded on March 29th 1985 to Nelson MANDELA, then in jail.
It was officially handed over to his daughter, Zenani Mandela Dlamini, on April 27th 1985. Archives

On February 11th 1990, Nelson MANDELA was released. Since then, it has been decided to award the Prize every two years in conjunction with the HRIBB and the UAE " Human Rights" Committee (since 2001 the EUROPEAN BAR HUMAN RIGHTS INSTITUTE (IDHAE) .

Since year 2003, the Prize is awarded every year in partnership with HUMAN RIGHTS INSTITUTE OF THE BAR OF PARIS and the European Bar Human Rights Institute (IDHAE).

The following is the list of prizewinners :


Nelson MANDELA  (South Africa)


 Not awarded


 Not awarded


 Not awarded


Augusto ZÚÑIGA PAZ  (Peru)


Jadranka CIGELJ  (Bosnia-Herzegovina)


divided equally between


Nejib HOSNI (Tunisia) and
Dalila MEZIANE  (Algeria).


ZHOU Guoqiang  (China)


Esber YAGMURDERELI  (Turkey)


Mehrangiz KAR  (Iran)


divided equally between


Digna OCHOA #
and   Bárbara ZAMORA (Mexico).

# (exceptionnaly post mortem)


After Nelson MANDELA, in 1985, Najib HOSNI was the second prizewinner while in detention. His candidacy was put forward by the International Union of Lawyers (UIA)(Commission Defense de la Defense), the International Federation Action of Christians for the Abolition of Torture (FIACAT), the Centre of Information and Documentation on Torture-Tunisia (C.I.D.T.-TUNISIA), the " Lawyers' Committee for Human Rights " (New-York), Amnesty International, the American Bar Association (ABA), the Institute of Human Rights of the Bar of Paris, Human Rights Watch (Washington).

Mrs. Dalila MEZIANE was the second woman, after Mrs. Jadranka CIGELJ, in 1994, to receive the Prize. Her candidacy was put forward by " European Legal Network on Asylum " (ELENA).

Nejib HOSNI was released by special presidential pardon by President Ben ALI on December 14th 1996, three months after the ceremony award in Bordeaux where the prize had been handed over to his representative, Dr Helen JAFFE, President of AVRE.

October 2nd, 1998 - Robert Badinter gives the Ludovic-Trarieux Prize to Liu Qing

The fifth Prize was awarded on May 25th 1998, to the Chinese lawyer ZHOU Guoqiang. After Nelson MANDELA and Nejib HOSNI, ZHOU Guoqiang was the third prizewinner not able to come to France in order to receive his Prize, as stipulated by the rules of the Prize. Because of the risks to his family and to himself, and notably that of being forced into exile, like many other Chinese dissidents prevented from going back to China if he left the territory to come and receive his Prize in France, ZHOU Guoqiang had no other choice but to mandate Mr. LIU Qing, Chairman of HUMAN RIGHTS in CHINA, who has been living in exile in New York since 1991, to go and receive the Prize in his name. Thus, the reward was given to him by M. Robert BADINTER on Friday 2nd October 1998 in the amphitheater of the National school of Judiciary (Ecole Nationale de la Magistrature) in Bordeaux and on that occasion Mr LIU Qing read the speech written by ZHOU Guoqiang for the Ceremony award.



Ugur Yagmurdereli -Photo BAP

Ugur Yagmurdereli reading the speech of his father. Photo BAP

The sixth "LUDOVIC-TRARIEUX INTERNATIONAL HUMAN RIGHTS PRIZE" was awarded on March 2th 2000, to the Turkish blind writer, lawyer, and human right activist, Esber Yagmurdereli, jailed since June 1998, for having expressed his views on the Kurdish issue.The Prize was given to the Prize winner's son, Mr. Ugur Yagmurdereli, on 29th September2000. Esber Yagmurdereli’ son Ugur Yagmurdereli received the prize on behalf of his father and read his father’s message and received the prize.(Click to see speeches.)

On May 23 2002, the jury of " Ludovic Trarieux International Human Rights Prize " awarded the Prize 2002 to the iranian lawyer Mehrangiz KAR, a human rights lawyer, writer, essayist, and former editor of the now-banned Zan literary review whose work as an activist for women's rights often put her in conflict with Iranian authorities.

The Award was given on October 24 2002, by the First Judge of the French Court of Cassation Mr Guy CANIVET during a Ceremony in the House of Lawyers in Paris in presence of 200 lawyers from France and main countries of Europe .( Ceremony award of the 2002 Prize to Mehrangiz Kar)


27 avril 1985 - Le Bâtonnier Bertrand FAVREAU, Président de l'IDHBB remet le premier Prix Ludovic-Trarieux à Zenani Mandela, tandis que son père est emprisonné depuis vingt trois ans en Afrique du Sud.

The 21 European lawyers members of the Jury of the "LUDOVIC-TRARIEUX INTERNATIONAL HUMAN RIGHTS PRIZE » meeting in Brussels Court’s House, on Friday 13 June 2003 awarded the eighth « Ludovic-Trarieux » Prize, created in 1984 (first prize winner Nelson Mandela then in jail) and awarded every year to a lawyer, regardless of nationality or Bar, who, by his work, will have illustrated his activity or his suffering, the defence of human rights, of defence rights, the supremacy of law, the struggle against racism and intolerance in any form jointly to Digna Ochoa y Plácido (post mortem) and Bárbara Zamora y Lopez.

The Jury called the Mexican authorities to ensure an effective, independent and thorough investigation into the killing of Digna Ochoa and expressed deep concern for the safety of Barbara Zamora and urged to give her immediately an appropriate protection.

The Prize will be presented on October 3rd , 2003, in the Great Hall of the National School of the Magistracy of France in Bordeaux.


Jury for the Prize 2004 meets on April 26th and the award will be presented to the Prize winner on October 8th, in BRUSSELS.

And to learn more : "The Ludovic Trarieux Prize on the Web"
no previous page top of page next page

Back to homepage